BBC iPlayer

Posted: February 9, 2013 in Apps for iPad

If, like me, you find free to air TV utterly dismal then let me introduce you to a fantastic app. for iPad – it is the BBC iplayer. This app gives you access to lots of BBC TV programs, many for free. However, for just under $10 a month you can have unlimited access to their truly vast collection. So far I have worked my way through 4 series of Primeval; episodes of The Goodies (comedy gold!); some weird but good short films; a great modern drama version of Frankenstein and am currently viewing Survivors. Every Doctor Who episode is also here……..(am I sounding too much like a Sci Fi nerd?) You can stream them easily if you have a decent internet connection – I hook the iPad up to the TV so I have the big screen, it plays automatically on HDMI – but can also download them to watch offline later if you want (this takes time though). It’s BBC heaven. Subscription is linked to your iTunes account so is easily done.

Comments
  1. Desi says:

    Hi Leanne,
    Would love to get my hands on your lesson plan with assessment rubric for the poetry mashup. It’s a fantastic idea and want to teach it to my yr 9’s next week. Have played around with animoto but it’s just not that long enough (ie cant put enought of the poem on it). Did you subscribe to animoto to make your video (i think the free versions are only 30 secs).
    Desi

  2. hampsonteach says:

    I used photostory I think for the one you are talking about, but have used the free animoto too, it actually teaches the kids to choose THE most important elements of both texts when they only have a short space to do it in. And animoto just makes everything look soooo nice! I have a power point that outlines the lesson plan – I will aim to post it in the next day or two. Thanks for the comments.

  3. Desi says:

    Thanks so much – can’t wait to see it! Am new to this blog thing so could you tell me how I would access the lesson plan when you post it up. Do I need to sign into something first?
    Desi.

    • hampsonteach says:

      As it is in a power point I am sending it to this email instead as it is difficult to put such things in wordpress.
      You should be able to see anything I post as it is all public. If you subscribe to the blog you get notified whenever something new goes up.

Leave a Reply

